S&P 500 7,743.41 +0.51%Nasdaq 27,068.72 +0.48%Dow 51,828.62 +0.93%Russell 2000 2,837.55 +0.07%as of 2026-09-25 close
◈ Frontier Tech Wire
Quantum, AI and frontier-tech small caps — on the wire
AI Small Caps

AEye Signs a New $50 Million At-the-Market Facility Priced Off $1.23 a Share, Below Its Own $1.46 Net Tangible Book Value, on $202,000 of Quarterly Revenue. Selling the Whole Amount Would Add About 87% to the Share Count

The Sept. 15 agreement with A.G.P. replaces a 2024 facility and carries up to 3.0% commission plus up to 1.0% to Craig-Hallum. The prospectus discloses a $3.4 million arbitration award against the company. The June 10-Q shows the old facility had raised $70.4 million gross by June 30; sales after that date are not disclosed.
Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.

AEye, Inc. (Nasdaq: LIDR), the lidar developer whose 2026 announcements have ranged from Nvidia's automotive platform to space-mobility and sports-analytics customers, entered a new At Market Issuance Sales Agreement with A.G.P./Alliance Global Partners on Sept. 15 under which it may sell common stock 'having an aggregate offering price of up to $50,000,000,' according to a Form 8-K filed the same day. The agreement replaces a facility with the same sales agent dated Sept. 12, 2024, which the two parties 'mutually agreed to terminate' on execution of the new one; the 8-K says the company 'did not incur any early termination penalties.'

The prospectus supplement filed alongside the 8-K sets the reference price and the scale. It states: 'On September 14, 2026, the last reported sale price of our common stock on Nasdaq was $1.23 per share,' and gives 46,672,169 shares of common stock outstanding as of Sept. 14, 2026. The dilution section assumes the sale of 40,650,406 shares to reach the full $50 million at that price. By our arithmetic (40,650,406 divided by 46,672,169), that is about 87 percent of the shares outstanding on the reference date, a ceiling rather than a plan, and one whose share count would rise further if the stock fell below $1.23 during the selling period.

The unusual feature of this facility is that the assumed price sits below the company's own book value. The supplement puts net tangible book value at June 30, 2026 at 'approximately $68.3 million,' or '$1.46 per share.' After the assumed $50 million sale at $1.23, net of commissions and expenses, the document says 'our as adjusted net tangible book value as of June 30, 2026 would have been approximately $115.9 million, or $1.33 per share of common stock.'

The next sentence is the one that matters to existing holders: 'This represents an immediate decrease in net tangible book value per share of $0.13 to our existing stockholders and immediate accretion under the assumed public offering price per share of $0.10 to new investors purchasing common stock in this offering.' In ordinary offerings the prospectus warns new investors of dilution; here the new buyers are the ones who gain on a book-value basis, and the existing holders are the ones who give it up.

Neither the 8-K nor the prospectus supplement states how many shares were sold, or how much was raised, under the 2024 agreement that has now been terminated. The company's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, filed Aug. 6, does: it reports that the company had sold 24,070,541 shares through A.G.P. under that agreement for gross proceeds totaling $70,412 thousand through June 30, 2026, that the facility's ceiling was raised in December 2025 to $125,000 thousand 'following multiple prior increases since the original agreement,' and that $54,588 thousand of availability remained at June 30. What was sold between July 1 and the Sept. 15 termination is not disclosed in any of the three documents. Separately, the 10-Q records $1,977 thousand of proceeds from the issuance of common stock under common stock purchase agreements in the first six months of the year, a different instrument from the at-the-market facility. The shelf registration that supports the new facility, File No. 333-296038, was filed on May 19, 2026 and was declared effective on Sept. 15, the day the agreement was signed.

Neither the 8-K nor the prospectus supplement states how many shares were sold, or how much was raised, under the 2024 agreement that has now been terminated. The company's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, filed Aug. 6, records $1,977 thousand of proceeds from the issuance of common stock under common stock purchase agreements in the first six months of the year, but does not identify a figure for the at-the-market facility. The shelf registration that supports the new facility, File No. 333-296038, was filed on May 19, 2026 and was declared effective on Sept. 15, the day the agreement was signed.

The stated use of proceeds is general. The supplement says the company intends to use net proceeds 'to fund working capital and general corporate purposes to support our future growth, which may include research and development, expansion of our commercial and business development activities, including in the aerospace and defense and infrastructure markets, capital expenditures, and general and administrative expenses.' No specific programme, plant or acquisition is named.

The stated use of proceeds is general: to 'fund working capital and general corporate purposes to support future growth, which may include research and development, expansion of commercial and business development activities, capital expenditures, and general and administrative expenses.' No specific programme, plant or acquisition is named.

The same section lists the commercial milestones the company has announced since mid-2025: validation on Nvidia's DRIVE AGX Orin platform in July 2025 and subsequently on its DRIVE AGX Thor platform, the introduction of a product called STRATOS in January 2026, membership of Nvidia's Halos AI Systems Inspection Lab in March 2026, a commercial relationship with SynTech, described as a global defense systems company, entered during the first quarter of 2026 with 'initial shipments' commenced, a road-surface friction sensing collaboration with MoveAWheeL in the second quarter, and selections by Lunar Outpost, for a lunar terrain vehicle, and Alive3D, a sports-analytics company, in the third quarter. The Lunar Outpost engagement was announced by 8-K on Sept. 1. None of these items is accompanied in the prospectus by a contract value or a unit volume, and each carries the company's own caution that there can be no assurance it will result in commercial sales.

The same section lists the commercial milestones the company has announced since mid-2025: validation on Nvidia's DRIVE AGX Orin and Thor platforms in July 2025, the introduction of a product called STATOS in January 2026, membership of Nvidia's Halos AI Systems Inspection Lab and a defense partnership with SynTech in March 2026, a road-surface friction sensing collaboration with MoveAWheeL in the second quarter, and selections by Lunar Outpost, a space-mobility company, and Alive3D, a sports-analytics company, in the third quarter. The Lunar Outpost engagement was announced by 8-K on Sept. 1. None of these items is accompanied in the prospectus by a contract value or a unit volume.

That is the gap the $50 million facility is meant to bridge. The company's disclosed cash burn, $15.8 million over six months, implies roughly two years of runway from the June 30 balance without new money, by our arithmetic, and the new facility, if fully used, would add close to $48 million after the maximum 4 percent in agent and advisory fees, again by our arithmetic. Whether it is used depends on the share price; at-the-market programmes are sold into the market at prevailing prices, and a company that signs one at $1.23 and a book value of $1.46 is signalling it will accept equity below what the balance sheet says it is worth.

What comes next is disclosure of actual sales. AEye must report shares sold under the facility in its quarterly filings, and the third-quarter 10-Q, covering the period to Sept. 30, will show whether any of the $50 million was drawn in the first two weeks. Not yet known: the amount raised under the terminated 2024 agreement, whether the company has paid or appealed the $3.4 million arbitration award, and whether any of the 2026 partnerships listed in the prospectus has produced a purchase order with a disclosed value.

This article is for general information only and is not investment advice. Figures are as reported by the cited sources at time of writing.

Related coverage

Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.
AI Small Caps

Axe Compute Finishes Its Turn From Cancer Diagnostics to GPU Rental by Selling Helomics for 636,328 DataMeds Shares and a $1.36 Million Note. No Cash Comes Back to the Seller, Which Also Pays the Buyer the Remaining Base Rent on Two Leases, and the Buyer Is a Micro-Cap That Renamed Itself in July

The Sept. 15 release calls the disposal the 'final chapter' of a transformation. The 10-Q behind it shows $3.2 million of second-quarter revenue against a $17.2 million net loss, most of it a $13.1 million loss on digital assets.

Thandi Mbeki · September 25, 2026
Illustrative photograph: an industrial manufacturing facility.
AI Small Caps

Knightscope Puts $27 Million of 'Estimated' Bookings in a Headline. About $17 Million of It Is the Company's Own Estimate of Orders Under a Contract With No Minimum Purchase, and the Release Landed a Day After a $35 Million ATM Top-Up Filed With the Last Sale at $1.14

The Sept. 22 release counts 109 contracts and awards across four months, but the two largest items are an estimate of future ordering under a master services agreement and a written award for which no definitive agreement or ordering document had yet been issued. The company says the figure is not revenue, backlog or remaining performance obligations, and it is not giving guidance.

Thandi Mbeki · September 25, 2026
Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.
AI Small Caps

PDF Solutions unveils Exensio Aurora on a 25x speed target of its own, with no named customers and no outside benchmark

The Nasdaq-listed semiconductor analytics firm announced a re-architected Exensio platform on Sept. 9, built for petabyte-scale fab data and agentic AI. Its release says the new engine is "designed to deliver" roughly 25 times faster performance at comparable hardware cost - a design target rather than a reported measurement. No third-party validation is cited, and the product is a beta for a small number of early adopters rather than generally available.

Thandi Mbeki · September 10, 2026