S&P 500 7,743.41 +0.51%Nasdaq 27,068.72 +0.48%Dow 51,828.62 +0.93%Russell 2000 2,837.55 +0.07%as of 2026-09-25 close
◈ Frontier Tech Wire
Quantum, AI and frontier-tech small caps — on the wire
Funding & Deals

Etched's Lead Investor Is Also Its First Customer. Jane Street Wrote the Cheque and Took Delivery of One Rack

A $700 million round at a $21 billion valuation, announced August 18, values the inference chip startup at roughly double where it was marked 26 days earlier. The disclosed customer-contract figure has not moved in seven weeks.
Illustrative photograph: people working in a business setting.

Etched said on Tuesday that it has raised $700 million in new funding at a $21 billion valuation, and that the firm leading the round, Jane Street, is also the first customer to take physical delivery of its hardware. The company's August 18 release describes both facts in the same announcement, and the second is the one that deserves the closer read.

According to the release, a single rack shipped to Jane Street last month and is now running in the trading firm's data center. That is the only delivery the release describes in any detail: one rack, one customer. Elsewhere in the same document Etched says it "has delivered its first racks to customers," in the plural, without naming a second customer or giving a count — the release does not reconcile the two statements. Etched does not state how many racks are under construction, how many are contracted for delivery this year, or what the rack sold for.

"It took us three years to deliver our first rack from scratch. Our next one will be much faster," co-founder and chief executive Gavin Uberti said in the release. He also said the company had "felt the urgency to get our hardware into customers' hands and run real workloads since day one," and characterised the Jane Street installation as proof of what the company has built.

The statement attributed to Jane Street in the release carries no named speaker. It says, in substance, that the firm tested the chip, is satisfied with early results, and is pleased to have a rack of its own running. Read as a customer reference it is favourable; read as a disclosure it establishes that one rack exists and works, and nothing beyond that.

The valuation arithmetic is the part that has moved fastest. Etched announced a $300 million round at a $10.3 billion valuation on July 23, in a release that described the raise as a Sequoia-led Series C. Tuesday's release attaches no series letter to the $700 million. Twenty-six days later the company put a $21 billion number on itself. That is a multiple of roughly 2.0 times on the earlier mark, over less than four weeks.

The starting point was lower still. When Etched came out of stealth on June 30, that release said its most recent financing had been a $500 million round at a $5 billion post-money valuation, closed in December. On the company's own published figures, the mark has moved from $5 billion to $21 billion in roughly eight months.

The cumulative fundraising figure does not reconcile cleanly, and it is worth stating why rather than rounding past it. The June 30 release put total capital raised at $800 million. The July 23 release added $300 million and described the total as over $1 billion, which is consistent. The August 18 release adds $700 million and states a cumulative figure of $1.9 billion. The three announced amounts sum to $1.8 billion. The June figure was itself a cumulative total — the release described it as $800 million raised "across multiple unannounced financing rounds" — so unannounced financings predating June 30 are already inside it and cannot account for the difference. On the company's own disclosures the roughly $100 million would have to be capital raised outside the two announced rounds since June 30. Etched has not itemised it, and does not address the discrepancy.

One number has not changed at all. "Over $1 billion in signed customer contracts" appeared in the June 30 stealth-exit release. The July 23 release does not restate the figure in its own text, carrying it only as a reference to the June announcement. It appears again on August 18, with the word "signed" dropped: "Etched has secured more than $1B in customer contracts across industries including public and private frontier AI companies and clouds." Seven weeks and two funding announcements later, the contracted book is still described with the same threshold. None of the three releases discloses a revenue figure, GAAP or otherwise, and Etched is private, so there are no filed accounts against which to check any of this.

Signed contracts, it should be said plainly, are not recognised revenue. They are not necessarily binding purchase orders either; the releases do not describe their cancellation terms, payment schedules, or how much of the $1 billion is contingent on hardware that has not yet been built. The rack in Jane Street's data center is the only delivery any of the three releases identifies by customer.

Jane Street's dual role is unusual enough to be worth spelling out. The August 18 release introduces the firm as the lead investor in the round and as the first customer, but does not mention that Jane Street was already listed among Etched's backers in both the June 30 and July 23 releases. An existing investor leading a round at double the prior mark, while simultaneously being the reference customer for the product being financed, is a structure that concentrates several roles in one counterparty. Etched does not disclose the commercial terms of the rack Jane Street received.

The rest of the syndicate, as named in the release, includes Kleiner Perkins, Sequoia, Andreessen Horowitz, Tiger Global, Bain Capital Ventures, Neo, Primary, Stripes, Positive Sum and Blackstone. Mamoon Hamid, managing partner at Kleiner Perkins, said in the release that "inference is becoming one of the most important infrastructure markets in AI, and the winners will be measured by tokens per dollar and per watt." That is an investor's framing of the opportunity, not a company disclosure about performance, and the release contains no benchmark data supporting it.

On the technology, the August 18 release describes rack-scale inference clusters built around two named elements: Low Voltage Inference, for compute density, and Cluster Scale Memory, for memory shared across a cluster. It names no foundry and gives no process node. The June 30 release was more specific, describing first-pass A0 silicon on TSMC's N4P process and a foundry relationship, and the July 23 release described a Taiwan factory plus an 80,000-square-foot Milpitas facility with 10 MW of capacity. Tuesday's announcement updates none of that manufacturing detail.

What a reader can verify from these three documents is narrow: one named customer delivery, over $1 billion in contracts described but not broken out, $1.9 billion said to be raised against $1.8 billion in announced rounds, and a valuation that has doubled since late July. What is not in any of them is a delivery schedule, a revenue line, or the price of the hardware. Those are the numbers that would turn the contracted book into something checkable, and Etched has not published them.

This article is for general information only and is not investment advice. Figures are as reported by the cited sources at time of writing.

Related coverage