IonQ Joins Canada's Quantum Sandbox Provider List — Under a Non-Binding MOU With No Disclosed Payment
IonQ (NYSE: IONQ) and CMC Microsystems announced on Tuesday, August 18 — the release carries a Toronto Business Wire dateline of that afternoon — a collaboration to expand cloud quantum computing access in Canada through the FABrIC Quantum Computing Sandbox, a program that funds academic and small-business access to commercial quantum hardware. The arrangement is set out in a memorandum of understanding. The release's own closing disclaimer states that the MOU "establishes a non-binding framework for collaboration," that "it does not obligate either party to enter into any definitive agreement, or to purchase, provide or deploy any products or services," and that "it may be terminated by either party."
That framing matters more than the headline. A non-binding framework is not a contract with committed volume, and the announcement discloses no payment to IonQ, no minimum purchase, no term length and no revenue expectation. What it establishes is eligibility: FABrIC's Quantum Computing Sandbox program page lists IonQ among its named quantum computing cloud service providers, so Canadian researchers and small-to-medium enterprises accepted into the sandbox can direct program-funded compute time to IonQ's systems if they choose to. Readers should not treat this announcement as revenue, or as a signed customer agreement, because on the face of the release it is neither.
FABrIC itself is the larger vehicle. The release says CMC Microsystems "has been enabling advanced technology innovation in Canada for more than 40 years, managing federal and provincial investments," and that, with support from the Government of Canada, "CMC leads FABrIC, a $217-million initiative to build a vibrant and sustainable Canadian semiconductor ecosystem," with backing identified as coming from the federal Strategic Response Fund. Two cautions on that figure: the release does not state which currency the $217 million is denominated in, and the figure is described as the size of FABrIC as a whole — a semiconductor ecosystem program — not of the Quantum Computing Sandbox, which is one program running under that umbrella. Nothing in the release ties any part of the $217 million to IonQ.
The sandbox's own published terms give a sense of the scale of any individual engagement. According to FABrIC's Quantum Sandbox program page, the program offers quantum computer access of up to $100,000 per project, determined per project by the applicant and CMC, plus a minimum of eight hours per week of technical support from CMC's quantum application scientists. Projects run in tiers of 13, 26 or 52 weeks across three tracks the program labels Demonstration, Adoption and Discovery. The program page does not state a currency for the $100,000 ceiling.
IonQ is not the only vendor on that list. FABrIC's program page names six quantum computing cloud service providers: IonQ, PINQ² in Sherbrooke, Quebec; Quandela of Paris and Montreal; Quantinuum in Broomfield, Colorado; QuEra in Boston; and Rigetti Computing in Berkeley, California. The page adds that the program "welcomes applications requesting access to quantum computing cloud service providers not listed here on a per project basis." In other words, IonQ has joined a competitive panel that already includes at least one other US-listed quantum hardware company, and the sandbox's structure leaves the choice of platform with the individual project team rather than with the program.
Lisa Lambert, IonQ's vice president of global strategy and managing director for Canada, said in the release: "Innovation moves faster when researchers and businesses can work with frontier quantum computing systems." Gordon Harling, chief executive of CMC Microsystems, said: "This is FABrIC's mandate in action: pairing a leading commercial quantum computing platform with the expertise to use it."
On the hardware, the release refers to IonQ's trapped-ion systems and identifies IonQ Tempo as the company's newest generation, but does not state a qubit count for any machine that would be made available through the sandbox. The release also states that "in 2025, the company achieved 99.99% two-qubit gate fidelity, setting a world record in quantum computing performance." That is IonQ's own characterisation of its own benchmark; the release does not state the measurement conditions, the number of qubits involved or any independent verification, and it should be read as a vendor claim rather than an established sector fact.
The commercial backdrop at IonQ is one of rapid revenue growth against very large losses. In its second-quarter 2026 results, released on August 5, the company reported revenue of $80.1 million, up 287 percent year over year and, in its own words, "20% above the midpoint of the previously provided range." It said it was "raising its revenue expectations" for full-year 2026 "to between $280 million and $290 million." Chief executive Niccolo de Masi said in that release that "second quarter revenue of $80.1 million again exceeded our guidance, reflecting continued customer demand across our expanding quantum platform."
The loss line is the part that requires stating without softening. For the second quarter alone — the three months ended June 30, 2026, not a cumulative or year-to-date figure — IonQ reported a net loss of $1,867.7 million, or roughly $1.87 billion, and GAAP diluted loss per share of $5.08. The release does not narrate what drove a loss of that size; it reports an adjusted EBITDA loss of $120.3 million, which it said would have been $95.6 million excluding SkyWater-related spend, and it defines its adjusted measures as excluding, among other things, "changes in fair value from recurring fair value measurements (such as warrant liabilities, contingent consideration, and investments)." The gap between the GAAP loss and the adjusted figure is therefore dominated by items IonQ treats as non-operating, but the release does not quantify how much of it is warrant-related, and this article does not attribute it. The company reported $3.0 billion in cash, cash equivalents and investments as of June 30, 2026, which it put at $2.0 billion on a pro-forma basis for the SkyWater acquisition. IonQ is a long way from operating profitability and is funding its expansion from a balance sheet built through capital raises rather than from cash generation.
Against that, a listing on a Canadian sandbox panel with a per-project ceiling of $100,000 is not going to move IonQ's revenue line in any period a reader can identify. Its significance is distributional. National and provincial programs of this kind are becoming a meaningful route through which quantum hardware vendors reach first-time users, and being on the approved list determines who gets considered when a research team writes its application.
That pattern is visible on both sides of the border. On May 21, 2026 the US Department of Commerce announced letters of intent with nine companies covering $2.013 billion in proposed funding, including $1 billion for IBM, $375 million for GlobalFoundries, $100 million each for Atom Computing, D-Wave, Infleqtion, PsiQuantum and Quantinuum, up to $100 million for Rigetti and up to $38 million for Diraq. The department said it "will receive a minority, non-controlling equity stake in each company as a condition for receiving the funds." The National Institute of Standards and Technology's announcement described these as letters of intent rather than executed awards. IonQ was not among the nine.
For readers following listed quantum names, the useful distinction is between government money that buys equipment or equity and government money that buys usage. The Commerce letters of intent, if finalised, would put capital onto recipient balance sheets. FABrIC's sandbox does something different: it subsidises demand at the margin, funding experiments that might otherwise not happen, and it does so in amounts that are small relative to any listed vendor's income statement. Both matter to the sector's development. Only one of them shows up quickly in reported revenue, and neither is what Tuesday's announcement was.
What would change the read is a follow-on: a definitive agreement replacing the MOU, a disclosed contract value, or a count of sandbox projects that actually select IonQ hardware. None of those exist yet in the public record. Until they do, this is a collaboration framework in principle between a US-listed, heavily loss-making quantum hardware company and a Canadian program administrator, announced without financial terms and binding on neither party.
Sources & further reading
- IonQ / Business Wire, "IonQ and CMC Microsystems Announce Collaboration to Expand Cloud Quantum Computing Access in Canada", Toronto dateline August 18, 2026, accessed August 19, 2026
- FABrIC (CMC Microsystems), "Quantum Sandbox" program page, accessed August 19, 2026
- StockTitan, "IonQ Signs MOU to Join Canada's Quantum Sandbox", release timestamped August 18, 2026 4:05 PM ET, accessed August 19, 2026
- IonQ, "IonQ Announces Record Second Quarter 2026 Revenues, Growing 287% YoY", dated August 5, 2026, accessed August 19, 2026
- NIST, "Department of Commerce Announces Letters of Intent With 9 Companies for $2 Billion to Accelerate U.S. Leadership in Quantum Computing", dated May 21, 2026, accessed August 19, 2026
- The Quantum Insider, "IonQ and CMC Microsystems Announce Collaboration to Expand Cloud Quantum Computing Access in Canada", dated August 19, 2026, accessed August 19, 2026
- Quantum Computing Report, "IonQ Collaborates with CMC Microsystems to Expand Cloud Quantum Access Across Canada", dated August 2026, accessed August 19, 2026
