S&P 500 7,743.41 +0.51%Nasdaq 27,068.72 +0.48%Dow 51,828.62 +0.93%Russell 2000 2,837.55 +0.07%as of 2026-09-25 close
◈ Frontier Tech Wire
Quantum, AI and frontier-tech small caps — on the wire
AI Small Caps

Ouster's lidar quietly becomes public infrastructure as Utah expands to nearly 300 intersections

A multimillion-dollar expansion won by partner Econolite pushes Ouster's BlueCity footprint across Utah roads, five days after a quarter that beat on revenue and missed badly on profit.
Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.

Ouster shares rose 7.1% on August 11 after the lidar maker said its BlueCity traffic platform would be deployed across a further 160 intersections in Utah, according to StartupHub's daily tally of AI stock moves. The move stood out on a session where several large-cap AI names sold off.

The structure of the deal is worth reading carefully. The expansion contract was awarded to Econolite, the traffic-technology company owned by Umovity, which integrates Ouster's sensors into its own intersection systems; Ouster is the supplier rather than the direct counterparty. The company's announcement describes the award as multimillion-dollar but does not disclose a value. With the new sites added, Ouster said its Utah Department of Transportation footprint approaches 300 intersections and roadway deployments, building on a 2025 contract that covered more than 100 intersections.

The expansion is also the commercial debut vehicle for Ouster's newest hardware. The company said the first installation of its OS1 Max Rev8 sensor is already live in Utah, describing the product as a native colour digital lidar that captures colour and three-dimensional depth simultaneously, with advance detection out to roughly 500 feet and edge processing that blurs pedestrians and cyclists for privacy. Earlier Utah deployments used the prior Rev7 generation.

Asad Lesani, Ouster's vice president of global ITS solutions, said scaling the footprint to hundreds of Utah intersections demonstrated the real-world value of the system, per the company's release. Econolite's senior vice president of U.S. sales, Jim Madden, said the transport department's decision to expand reflected the situational awareness the integrated lidar solution provides. Ouster also said BlueCity underpins the three largest fully integrated lidar traffic management deployments in the United States, alongside Nashville and Chattanooga.

The contract news landed five days after a second quarter that split investors. Ouster reported revenue of $55 million on August 6, up 56% year over year and 12% sequentially, with product revenue of $53 million and more than 17,000 sensors shipped — over 9,000 lidar units and over 8,000 cameras, against roughly 5,500 total units a year earlier, according to the company and Investing.com's summary of the accompanying slides. GAAP gross margin reached 49%, up from 45%, with non-GAAP gross margin at 53%.

The profit line was the problem. The company posted a GAAP net loss of $18 million and an adjusted EBITDA loss of $4 million, both modest improvements year over year. Investing.com reported that the loss per share of $0.27 came in well wide of the $0.12 analysts had modelled, and that the stock fell 8.18% after hours to $41.85 despite the revenue beat — a reminder that the market is now grading Ouster on the path to profitability rather than growth alone.

Liquidity is not the constraint. Ouster ended the quarter with $91.8 million in cash and equivalents plus $169.3 million in short-term investments, about $263 million in total and no debt, and told investors it does not need additional capital to fund its current operating plan. Guidance for the third quarter was $54.5 million to $57.5 million, implying flat to modest sequential growth, with longer-term targets of 30% to 50% annual revenue growth, GAAP gross margins of 35% to 40% and operating expense growth held under 5% a year.

Chief executive Angus Pacala has framed Rev8 as the company's most important product launch, positioning it as the growth engine for the next five years with a customer migration from Rev7 expected to take roughly two years. The Utah award is the first sizeable public evidence of that thesis converting. Ouster now carries a market capitalisation of about $3.25 billion on trailing twelve-month revenue of $204.91 million, with a 52-week range of $16.40 to $63.79, per StockAnalysis — a valuation that leaves little slack if the infrastructure pipeline slows.

This article is for general information only and is not investment advice. Figures are as reported by the cited sources at time of writing.

Related coverage

Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.
AI Small Caps

AEye Signs a New $50 Million At-the-Market Facility Priced Off $1.23 a Share, Below Its Own $1.46 Net Tangible Book Value, on $202,000 of Quarterly Revenue. Selling the Whole Amount Would Add About 87% to the Share Count

The Sept. 15 agreement with A.G.P. replaces a 2024 facility and carries up to 3.0% commission plus up to 1.0% to Craig-Hallum. The prospectus discloses a $3.4 million arbitration award against the company. The June 10-Q shows the old facility had raised $70.4 million gross by June 30; sales after that date are not disclosed.

Thandi Mbeki · September 25, 2026
Illustrative photograph: computer server and electronics hardware.
AI Small Caps

Axe Compute Finishes Its Turn From Cancer Diagnostics to GPU Rental by Selling Helomics for 636,328 DataMeds Shares and a $1.36 Million Note. No Cash Comes Back to the Seller, Which Also Pays the Buyer the Remaining Base Rent on Two Leases, and the Buyer Is a Micro-Cap That Renamed Itself in July

The Sept. 15 release calls the disposal the 'final chapter' of a transformation. The 10-Q behind it shows $3.2 million of second-quarter revenue against a $17.2 million net loss, most of it a $13.1 million loss on digital assets.

Thandi Mbeki · September 25, 2026
Illustrative photograph: an industrial manufacturing facility.
AI Small Caps

Knightscope Puts $27 Million of 'Estimated' Bookings in a Headline. About $17 Million of It Is the Company's Own Estimate of Orders Under a Contract With No Minimum Purchase, and the Release Landed a Day After a $35 Million ATM Top-Up Filed With the Last Sale at $1.14

The Sept. 22 release counts 109 contracts and awards across four months, but the two largest items are an estimate of future ordering under a master services agreement and a written award for which no definitive agreement or ordering document had yet been issued. The company says the figure is not revenue, backlog or remaining performance obligations, and it is not giving guidance.

Thandi Mbeki · September 25, 2026